Gnostic Doctrine

Saturday, 25 August 2018

The Seven Kinds/Types of Angels

What are angels?

The Greek word "aggelos" translated "angel" means "messenger, agent", and is used of both human and divine messengers. It is used of humans in the following places: Matt. 11:10; Luke 7:24, 27; 9:52; and James 2:25.

That "sons of God" must refer to divine angels. (It refers to humans in Deut. 14:1, R.S.V.; Psa. 82:6, R.S.V.; Hosea 1:10; Luke 3:38; John 1:12; 1 John 3:1.)

In the New Testament, Angel can mean "a heavenly spirit" that is the rational spirit, the power by which the human being feels, thinks, decides

 In view of the first century meanings of heavenly and spirit, we can understand that this phrase refers to a person who has the Christ consciousness.

"In the New Testament, as in the old, the Angel is sometimes no more than another word for a divine communication or divine operation personified."

The Seven Kinds/Types of Angels

As far as we know, the Bible describes only seven types of Angels, and of the Angels God created, there is no mention of female angels, which is not to say that God did not create female Angels; He simply makes no mention of them in the Bible. However, in the Book Of Enoch, many Angels are mentioned by name. Revealing the names of the Angels is being reserved for an upcoming article, as well as several more articles on the Book Of Enoch.

1. Cherub or Cherubim Angels:  Cherubim Angels have their wings outstretched toward each other on the cover over the Mercy Seat of the Ark of the Covenant in the Holy of Holies of the Tabernacle of God. Cherubim Angels are highly empowered Angels who protect and surround the holy presence and dwelling place of the Lord God in the Tabernacle of God.

2. Seraphs or Seraphim Angels: Seraphim Angels are absolutely awesome-looking Angels. The responsibilities of the Seraphim Angels seem to be surrounded with declaring the Holiness of God and the protection of God from any presence of impure sin natures.

3. Living Creatures also called Zoa Angels: Zoa Angels are mystical looking six-winged Angels covered with eyes, who have the head of a man, lion, eagle, ox. The head of a man represents God made flesh; the head of the lion represents the Lion of Judah and the tribes of Judah; the head of the eagle represents the prophets and three tribes of Israel, the head of the ox represents three tribes of Israel whose banner of the Lord God is that of an ox. Continuously in Heaven the Zoa Angels sing praises to the Lord God "Holy, Holy, Holy, Worthy is the Lamb of God." The Zoa Angels are all around the Throne of God and God's resplendent glorious Light.

4. Archangels / Warrior Angels: In addition to Satan, Michael was also an Archangel. Michael is perhaps the most known Archangel; Among his other responsibilities God has given him is the responsibility of protecting and defending Israel, the Land of God. When Michael the Archangel is not protecting Israel, he is doing spiritual physical battle in the heavens.

5. The Angel of God called the Angel of God: An Angel of God is a messenger Angel sent by God to deliver an important message of prophetic proportion.

6. The Angel of The Lord also called The Angel of God: Is God Jesus taking the gentle, mystical form of an Angel bringing a message of great importance.

7. Regular Angels / Guardian Angels: Are also Ministering spirits to those who know and love God.


Although there are billions of angels, more than enough to go around and for everyone to have at least one, not everyone has a guardian angel.

Bible Reference:

In the Book of Psalms 91:11 we are told that God gives Angels charge over us to keep us in all our ways. Many people interpret this passage as meaning that everyone has a Guardian Angel, the righteous and the unrighteous. But make no mistake as to God's meaning, for He makes it crystal clear in:

Hebrews 1:14 regarding the duties of Angels, and who the Guardian Angels are assigned to when He says, "Are not all Angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation."

This verse takes away any and all doubt as to who has a Guardian Angel, and makes it abundantly clear that Guardian Angels are only sent by God to those who have been redeemed: These are those persons, who have accepted Jesus Christ as their personal Lord and Savior, or who will accept Christ before their death. God knows the end from the beginning and who will come to Christ and be redeemed and made righteous in Jesus in His blood, with eternal life with God in Heaven.

No comments:

Post a Comment