Gnostic Doctrine

Saturday, 22 May 2021

The Tree of Life Pistis Sophia chapter 101

 The Gnostic Tree of Life
The Limbs of the Ineffable in Pistis Sophia

The Deity is the tree of life we are the branches

The expression “tree of life” is used with regard to true wisdom, the fruitage of the righteous, the realization of a thing desired, and calmness of the tongue; it is also associated with the crown of life. (Pr 3:18; 11:30; 13:12; 15:4; Re 2:7, 10

. God’s word or message is like “seed,” which, if planted in good soil, brings forth much fruitage (Lu 8:11-15); his sayings are also said to ‘run with speed.’—Ps 147:15

The tree of life is used with regard to true wisdom, God’s word or message is like “seed,” which, if planted in good soil, brings forth much fruitage (Lu 8:11-15).

Wisdom is called the tree of life in the book of Proverbs see Proverbs 3:18

She is a tree of life to those who take hold of her, And happy are all who hold her fast.

Wisdom is a personification of God or an aspect of God it is therefore logical to conclude that God himself is the tree of life 

This can be seen from the Tripartite Tractate:

As for what we can say about the things which are exalted, what is fitting is that we begin with the Father, who is the root of the Totality, the one from whom we have received grace to speak about him.
2. The Father
He existed before anything other than himself came into being. The Father is singular while being many, for he is the first one and the one who is only himself. Yet he is not like a solitary individual. Otherwise, how could he be a father? For whenever there is a "father," the name "son" follows. But the single one, who alone is the Father, is like a root, with tree, branches and fruit. (the Tripartite Tractate)

The emphasis in this paragraph is thus not on the oneness of the Father but on his being simultaneously one and many: While remaining one the Father contains within him the All in the sense that he contains its origin, as the root contains the tree

"the All"  in TriTrac this term only refers to the transcendent region,

The tree, often in inverted position and with the divine principle being associated with the root, is a symbol of the spiritual world

as a symbol of the transcendent world the tree also appears in the Kabbalah

There also the First extensions of the root that spreads out from the main root, is called = The Son - The Christ, which has extensions from it, this secondary root with it's extensions is called = The Church: now these are called = the first perfect aeons of the Father

The Tripartite Tractate, helps to explan the limbs of the ineffable found in the book Pistis Sophia chapter 101:

Of the Limbs of the Ineffable.

"AND those who are worthy of the mysteries which abide in the Ineffable, which are those which have not gone forth,--these exist before the First Mystery, and to use a likeness and similitude, that ye may understand it, they are as the Limbs of the Ineffable. And every one existeth according to the dignity of its glory: the head according to the dignity of the head and the eye according to the dignity |253. of the eyes and the ear according to the dignity of the ears and the rest of the Limbs [in like fashion]; so that the matter is manifest: There is a multitude of limbs but one only body. Of this indeed have I spoken in a pattern and similitude and likeness, but not in a form in truth; nor have I revealed the word in truth, but the mystery [only] of the Ineffable. (Pistis Sophia chapter 101)

A Tree that grows Multiple Fruit is as the limbs of the ineffable, let us begin at the root, there is the main root that remains hidden is the very source of the tree = The Father- the Monad meaning The Divine One:

There also the First extensions of the root that spreads out from the main root, is called = Holy Spirit - Barbelo, which has extensions from it, this secondary root with it's extensions is called = Pentad: now the Barbelo have four helpers, the Barbelo plus her helpers are called = Pentad: the first perfect five aeons of the Father.

Note Pentad a group or set of five aeons:

Now we move on to the base of the tree/stump, or base which is called = Autogenes: Christ- which is the visible beginning part of the tree, the inner most part is call = Christ, and he also have extensions called= helpers, attendants, or the four Powers, Christ and the four powers are called = Decad: the ten perfect aeons of the Father.

Note Autogenes means Self-Begotten 
Note Decad a group or set of ten aeons

The body- which is the children, we are called = Pleroma: 'that which fills' - we fill the space between Christ and the twenty four invisibles.

on to the Limbs which is called the 12 Aeons, or invisibles. which each have a mate which makes up 24 Aeons or invisibles, they have the ability of emanation: the ability to produce another in full form, without the act of reproduction or sexual intercourse.

The Branches- are the emanations of the twenty four invisibles, and they being many, also have the ability to emanate.

And last the fruit - is the emanations of they that were emanated by the invisible s, which are the twenty four invisible s or thirteen Aeons.

The Archons came to be by the desire of one of the invisibles by the name of Pistis Sophia, this happen out of a selfish desire to create a being out of matter to rule over matter, this she did without the consent of the Father and help of her mate, her creation was an imperfect creature called = 'Yaldabaoth'. which is the creator god, also called the chief creator, the god of the old testament

the Decad down to the branches to the fruit, our Father expressed himself to them, but did not reveal himself to them, the revelation of our Father is our inheritance, seeing that we were in the very mind of our father at his beginning,

The Holy Spirit - Barbelo, The Self-Begotten Christ are not persons or primordial beings controlled by the Father they are aspects of the mind of God or mental powers, unfolding or expanding from its thought to become an idea

The Gnostic tree of life has 12 not 10 structures as in kabbalah in the gnostic tree of life logos is the lowest level

1 comment:

  1. Barbelo is first Beget, Sophia is the Consort of Christ and Zoe is the daughter of Sophia .